DUI is a stacking offense in Montana, meaning the consequences become more serious with each conviction.
If you are convicted of a DUI in Montana, even for a first offense, you will be sentenced to a mandatory minimum 24 hours in jail, and a fine of up to $1,000. On top of fines and jail time, you will be required to pay for and attend substance abuse information course (ACT Class) and a victim impact panel to learn more about how drinking and driving affects members of your community. The Court may also require you to take regular alcohol screening tests, which can be both inconvenient and expensive.
Second and Third offenses carry much harsher penalties. You will face a mandatory seven days and up to one year in jail for a second offense, or a mandatory thirty days and up to one year for a third offense.