Yes. It is illegal to drive without liability car insurance. Driving a vehicle without insurance is a criminal offense and can result in fines, jail time, and suspension of your driver’s license. Always carry proof that you have insurance in your vehicle. Proof of insurance can be kept as a paper copy in your car or electronically on your phone. The minimum requirement in Montana is $25,000 for personal injury and $20,000 for property damage.
MSU's Student Legal Services program is managed by the Associated Students of Montana State University (ASMSU). Please thank your student government for prioritizing legal services for MSU students!